Its bad to quit, right?

Quitters never win, and winners never quit – Vince Lombardi

I Never Quit?

Most of us have had a challenge in life that we wanted to quit. But, a little voice in our heads or perhaps a supportive friend said, “don’t quit, you can do it”. Recently, I was in the gym training a client and I was pushing myself to max out on pullups, somewhere around 17 I stated I would complete 25 but by 21 I was ready to quit. I hung there for a few seconds and contemplated giving up but my client said, “Come on Clinton, you can do it, only four more to go” It was at that point that I dug deep decided four more was easy and finished my pull-ups. when we were walking to our cars the same evening he said something very interesting to me. He said, “I’m glad you did not quit, my goal is to only quit when I’m seriously hurt”. It did not resonate with me at the moment until I was reading a status message of a friend on Facebook.

When Can I Officially Quit?

We already know that success is not something you can simply wish and hope happens. I began to think, is it ever good to quit? We teach our kids to not be quitters, we look down on those who quit, we lose confidence in our favorite athletes when the seemingly quit on the team, overall we as a society hate quitters.

BUT…then we turn on the TV and we see commercials encouraging people to quit smoking, quit drinking, quit bad eating habits, quit living a sedentary lifestyle, quit an abusive relationship, quit using one product, upgrade to another, QUIT, QUIT, QUIT…

So I ask you is it always bad to quit? OF COURSE NOT…even when related to good causes that are not harmful to you or others. What do Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg, Micheal Dell, Steve Jobs, Richard Branson, and Russell Simmons have in common? They are all QUITTERS. They all quit college before they were done, they are not alone some of our greatest minds QUIT school and became very successful entrepreneurs. Of course college serves a purpose it is not synonymous with success and quitting is not synonymous with failure. Some successful rap artists are former criminals and quit that lifestyle for a legitimate music career. Some of our friends, and family quit using harmful products, eating harmful foods, or a combination of many things. The bottom line is they QUIT. Not only did they quit, but it was a good thing. It made them better people.

WHAT’S THE POINT?

Most people when they consider where they would like to be 10 years from now the phrase, I’d like to be a quitter rarely comes up. Quitting is not inherently evil and therefore does not demand you avoid it at all costs. But, be careful and make certain that when you quit it does not make you weaker. Don’t quit on your dreams, don’t quit on your goals…unless you replace them with something equal or greater for your well-being and that of the people who matter most to you.

So Its OK to Quit?

QUITTING IS NOT FOR LOSERS, OR FAILURES OR THE BOTTOM OF SOCIETY. Carefully considered and intentional quitting that is a bridge or a foundation to move toward positive progress is the only caveat of being a quitter. Therefore, make certain you proclaim today via Twitter and Facebook. That you are a QUITTER and proud of it.

Be GREAT at what you do today!

5 thoughts on “Its bad to quit, right?

  1. Reblogged this on LifeRevelation and commented:
    I’ve had a few comments about a blog I reblogged a few days ago. It’s the one about never giving up. As with nearly all of my beliefs I occupy the space between far right, got to do it one way and one way only and the far left of hey nothing matters, it is all cool. This post by Mr. Jiggetts accurately presents my feelings. I think you’ll find it well-balanced, which is something I cherish, but seem to be finding less and less of.

    Be encouraged!

  2. I am alive today because of the things that I quit. I had to learn to quit—to give up–but I am happy that I finally did learn that quitting something means a new beginning ahead!

Share Your Thoughts!

