The New iPhone 5 was released today, and its expected to sell more than any other cell phone in history!

Are one of the many who will purchase the new iPhone 5 today?

When I woke up this morning at 4:40 am, I did not usual. I brushed my teeth, got a drink of water, and headed to the gym. But, as I glanced at the news, and fed my addiction to social media I noticed 1 theme. The iPhone 5 was released and people went on-line in the early a.m. to be among the first to purchase it. The demand was so overwhelming that according to CNET it caused some problems. Most of us know how popular Apple’s products are to the masses. When they release a new product it’s always too much fanfare. The new Iphone of course is expected to be the best thing since…well the iPhone 4 which was released a few short months ago. But the new iPhone 5 is the best of the best right?

Truthfully, it does not matter if the features make it the best phone in the world. The marketing success of the iPhone is it’s a product that is reflected in the have or have not culture. There is iPhone users’ then there are the rest of us (like me, I have a HTC that is over 2 years old). But the theme remains the same, the new phone is released and everyone takes their money and purchased the new phone without hesitation. It’s a purchase not out of necessity but as a status symbol, and leg up, and reflection that you are a part of arguably the most valuable brand on earth.

Is the iPhone 5 really a reflection of me, and how I approach life?

But if you dig deeper what is it a greater indication of? To me it signals that we place value in some things, while we ignore others. For me the iPhone 5 is a reflection of the flaw in ALL of us. We are willing to wake up at 3 a.m. to purchase a new and ‘exclusive’ phone online. But, will be the first to complain if we had to wake up at 3 a.m. for work, or wake up 3 a.m. to do something that can set our lives on a course toward our goals. We all want what we want, but we want it on our time schedule.

For example, when I tell people I wake up 4:40 am to workout they often ask why. I simply tell them, it’s the best time for me. It’s the time I scheduled to workout, similar to your schedule to watch our favorite reality show at 8 p.m. You watch that show because you made a commitment to do so, and you WANT TO. I decided years ago, fitness and health would be an asset to me for my entire life. To me working out and eating right is not an option. It is of the utmost importance. Therefore, in order to be an effective father in the morning, a hard worker during the day, an effective father and accommodating husband in the evenings…working out from 5am – 6am is my best option. Not to mention, I often workout after everyone else is sleep at night as well, which is normally about 9 or 9:30.

What Does the iPhone 5 have to do with Me?

The point of this long-winded correlation between the iPhone 5 customers and what we do from day-to-day to reach our goal is simple. It’s all about choices. You either do or you don’t. In life you take steps toward what you want….or you can kick and scream and see if you get results.

Of course, I’m not saying don’t go purchase the new iPhone 5 if it is what you desire. But, instead I’m saying try to use that exact same dedication to reach your goals as you placed in being a member of the ever-growing iPhone club.

Be GREAT at what you do today!

Share Your Thoughts!

