What The Heck Are You Wearing?

“Dress for the role you want, not the role you have. ” – Unknown

What the heck are you wearing Clinton? That was the question I got when I applied for my first job with a really close friend. I was 16, and the job was to wash dishes. My car was not working properly as it often did at that time in my life and I needed a ride from my friend. When I got into his car he said, “what the heck are you wearing?” I said,”this is what my parents told me to wear.” I had on a suit and he declared I was over dressed for the position I was applying. Just prior to my interview my parents told me wearing a suit would be a terrific idea, and I did not agree but little did I know they were giving me a very valuable lesson. Impressions mean everything, like it or not. I may never know if I would have been hired if I wore a pair of jeans and t-shirt, but I do know I stood out that day because I was the only person there with a suit on, the closest second had on khakis and a polo shirt.

So, what is the point of this BLOG today? I want you to understand not only the importance of PRIDE when reaching for goals, but creating the right perception, makes the best impression, which is an instant reflection of the conception that is you…I love that quote and I stole it from yours truly. the point is if you want to get promoted act and dress like you already have the job…if you want to be a CEO act and dress the role. Regardless of what your goal may be create the perception that the reality already exists because “what the mouth speaks, and the eyes see the mind believes.” The mind will then take immediate actino to bring what it already sees to fruition. So take a look at the mirror TODAY and ask yourself…

What the heck are you wearing?

Be GREAT at what you do today!

Share Your Thoughts!

